Black Bean Veggie Burger Salad

Black Bean Veggie Burger Salad

This is a simple yet decadent way to enjoy a delicious, low calorie salad.

Prep: 25 minutes total.

Here I used a black bean store bought veggie burger, slice of cheddar cheese, beef steak tomato, cucumber, kale and lime, and half of an avocado and black beans. This is dressed up with lime juice only and a dash of salt and pepper.

To prep – I personally prefer to de-frost my veggie patties and then place them in a pan with a bit of olive oil to warm through. They are already cooked and just need to be heated. I placed some of my black beans in the skillet as well and then once warmed placed the cheese on top and covered to heat the cheese.

Then I sliced my cucumber, peeled my avocado half and diced my tomato. Once my veggie burger was done I simply placed it atop the bed of kale lettuce, drizzled lime juice on the top and delicately sprinkled my salt and pepper to taste.

This was a filling meal that went nicely with a glass of chardonnay on a Saturday afternoon.

Perfect Confetti meal šŸ™‚ Colorful and delicious.

Approximate calories: Around 400

Remember though, even if you count calories (like I do) this meal is filled with rich protein (from the burger and black beans) and anti-oxidants from the lime juice and cucumbers, as well as heart healthy from the tomatoes and kale. The avocado adds the healthy required fats that are needed throughout your day. This meal also makes a great alternative to a dinner salad.

2 thoughts on “Black Bean Veggie Burger Salad

  1. Pingback: Food for a dumb vegetarian – Dinner for two | Loccmama fucks cliches.

  2. Pingback: Sprouted Black Bean & Spinach Salad | Mabuhay

Leave a Reply

